Move-in Day

I’ve been struggling to find a home, a blog, for “The Sick Rose.”  I haven’t had a blog since livejournal, a handful of years ago.  I don’t know if that even counts as a blog.  Well, setting this up wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

I didn’t want to use Blogger because it was trying to set me up with Google+ and connect me with this, that, and the other thing, all over the internet.  That bugs me out.  And setting up the blog page itself was confusing.  If there was a way that I could post my story in a sleeker way on the Facebook page I would have stuck with that.  But so far, I feel comfortable here.

So let me give you the background on what you’re about to read and see:

Two summers ago, I started writing a vampire novel to help me deal with my insomnia. Playing too much Vampire Wars, watching too much Dark Shadows, and disappointed with the most current and popular representation of vampires I started developing these very interesting characters that needed a story. I didn’t get very far but saved what I had on my computer.

Then, about a year ago, when Border’s was going out of business, I came across a couple of “how to draw manga” books for really cheap. The illustrations in these books were beautiful. And although I’ve never been a fan or manga or anime (save for a little Sailor Moon in high school) I thought I would pick them up. The step by step of the drawings interested me and I thought if nothing else, getting back into drawing would keep me out of trouble.

So I’ve decided to put the two together. Please join me and watch the vampire story unfold against a backdrop of manga illustrations. I have aspirations of creating an online serial that will tell the story through written word and drawings.

And thank you to everyone who has supported me along the way and will continue to do so! I already have some pretty solid fans that I am happy to call friends. It definitely helps to be surrounded by supportive and creative people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

