I Don’t Like Reading Blogs (And Other Reasons Why I Shouldn’t Be Doing This)

I don’t like reading blogs.  I’m a pretty laid back person who doesn’t hold super strong judgments and opinions about things.  The opinions you are about to find in this post are about as deep as it will probably ever get from me.  I also don’t get much out of reading people’s blog rants, which is what this is about to turn into, so let’s get it over with…

I don’t like reading things online.  Does anyone remember taking the MEAP test in grade school?  Yeah, I scored low on “reading for comprehension”.  (How ironic that I don’t even precisely know what that means!  lol)  But I find holding a book in my hands, something tangible where I can smell the paper and printed ink, easier for me to understand.  It’s easier on the eyes too.  Whether or not this rule applies to an e-reader, Kindle, or Nook, is yet to be determined.  But I also happen to be stuck in the 90’s as far as technology goes.  That’s a whole other story.

I don’t read manga or watch anime.  How I came to draw and become heavily influenced by this style is discussed in the “What is The Sick Rose?” link on the left of this page.

I don’t read comic books.  For someone who struggles with reading for comprehension and then throw drawings in the mix and not understand in which direction to read on the page, yeah…confusing!  I will admit though, I do own a very modest collection of Dark Shadows comics based on the original television series.  Vintage and the most current run.  See, I don’t even know if I’m using the correct comic book ‘lingo’.

I don’t like paranormal romance books.  As a sub-genre of romance, I don’t like it.  But I will admit I do enjoy a historical romance novel occasionally.  Guilty as charged.  My favorite author is Julie Garwood.  I do have some reservations that The Sick Rose may turn into what would be classified as a paranormal romance, and that scares me.  I am going to really try and focus on the aspects of it that are family drama and historical fiction.  But in the end, it will end up being what it ends up being.

***

I remember when I was little I wanted to be an animator for Disney.  And then after taking Advanced Art in 8th Grade, and two years of Studio Art in high school, everyone thought I was going to go to art school.  I’m not sure why I felt the need to prove everyone wrong and decide to pursue Criminal Psychology, but that didn’t last long.  So, part of me thinks part of the reason why I am so drawn to this project right now is that it’s an attempt to reconcile my past.  Hence, the whole “30-year-old-sitting-at-home-on-a-Saturday-night-drawing-cartoons” thing.  And honestly, if it didn’t bring me so much joy and garner the wonderful support of friends and cherished new fans, I wouldn’t be doing it.

So despite all these reason as to why I shouldn’t be doing this,

I am going to do it anyway.

Thanks for reading!

A working sketch of Audrey Hepburn from the movie “Funny Face” in the Chibi-Japanese style

Leave a Reply

