November Is National Novel Writing Month

The story of The Sick Rose first began as a vampire novel over two years ago but died somewhere along the first chapter.  It’s super geeky to admit this, but the characters are based on characters I created in the facebook game Vampire Wars with names inspired by darkwave music I was listening to at the time.  It was only this past September that I decided to resurrect it and continue the story along with illustrations in a blog format.

I recently joined a creative writing club on facebook and was introduced to nanowrimo.org, a novel writing self-challenge.  That’s all fine and good.  But the goal is to write 50,000 words in a month and I had only about two days worth of material previously written.  About 1/3 of nanowrimo participants continue with previously written material.  This is referred to in the forum’s as “rebelling”.  I’m not sure if that means my finished manuscript would be disqualified from being handed in to nanowrimo for possible publishing, but either way this is how I really see it:  1.  I already have a ton of new material to keep this blog going for quite some time.  2.  I would be able to return to solely focusing on the illustration aspect of it.  3.  In the meantime, I can look for a publisher for the completed novel on my own, while continuing to release the story in small increments here on the blog along with illustrations.

The completed novel…yeah, about that…even though I basically had a two day head start, I’ve been having a heck of a time trying to keep up with the average daily word count.  Real life gets in the way or I just don’t feel like writing.  It’s not that I get writer’s block or anything,  but the plot line I’ve created can become overwhelming and complex to me at times.  And now that I’ve introduced the historical fiction aspect to the story, I’m in big trouble.  Research is time consuming.  I was never good at history and I don’t know how the story is going to go from a holiday office party in suburban Detroit to ancient North Africa and still be somewhat believable.  As believable as a vampire story can be, of course.  Thank you for joining me on this incredible journey!

To see my latest word count click here!

Leave a Reply

