Back From Camp

Hello friends and fans,

I just finished wrapping up my month at Camp NaNoWriMo where I was busy working on The Sick Rose – The Novel.  It was a month of writing, revising and research.  I reached my self-imposed word count goal of 10,000 new words added to the novel and it probably could use at least 15,000 more.  I am happy to hear that camp goes for another round in July where I hope to REALLY put the finishing touches on this bad boy.

Highlights from this month were:

I was able to finish out the part of my book that takes place in ancient North Africa.  That part is done!

I spent most of the month working on the Viking era.  It was where I focused the most of my energy research-wise this time around.  I continued the Viking research I started last year.  I watched the movie The 13th Warrior to pick up some ideas as a break from scouring through books.  I eventually would like to read the novel written by Michael Crichton.

Most depictions of Vikings in pop culture revolves around the sailing, raiding, and exploration they were well known for.  My novel focuses more on the village life and includes, interracial romance, a duel, and a trial.  And a vampire, of course.  One of the characters is killed that I had not planned on going into April.

In part three of my novel, we return to the present time.  I’ve decided to introduce a new character, a blonde-bombshell Russian child psychologist.  She will be a minor character in book one and will reveal secrets of her own in one of the sequels.

That’s pretty much it.  I will be backing off from the novel and trying to focus on updating the graphic series again.  Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Back From Camp

  1. Wow! I’m really excited about the update. I’ve come to realize I have a thing for vikings…like seriously…bloodlust does things for me…

    • lol yay! Thank you for the comment. My Vikings are pretty tame compared to what we see on tv and in movies. I’m not used to writing, or reading, violent scenes. It will probably be much easier for me to draw I’m thinking.

Leave a Reply

