Character Study: Lukas Torian, Part Two

Last week, I gave you a first glimpse look at Lukas Torian, a Swiss alchemist and vampire hunter from the 16th century.  I have since updated his executioner’s sword, which will be his signature weapon in the novel/graphic novel/blog serial, whichever happens first.  I’ve also drawn him in a furred gown, which will be his evening wear look when he isn’t dressed in his formal doctor attire.  The long  brocaded gown still appears professional, with a contrasting brown fur lining.  The sword is an exaggerated version of an executioner’s sword, with its size and bulk influenced by the Soul Calibur video games.  You can also see how nice my new grey markers are working!

Lukas Torian step 001Giovanni_Battista_Moroni_001I’m including this portrait of “The Tailor” (1570) by Giovanni Battista Moroni here because I think it is a nice reference for Lukas Torian’s facial hair.  Although the portrait is of Italian origin, the renaissance period in Switzerland seems to be influenced by the countries surrounding it, as I haven’t been able to find anything that is a signature Swiss style.  I am not a historian by any means, but I am guessing that Basel, Switzerland, which is located in the north and where part of my story takes place, was heavily influenced by French and German culture in the 16th century.  All I have to say is, thank goodness this is a work of fiction so I can make it how I want!

 

And then there’s this guy, Carlos Leal.  I looked up Swiss actors to find someone who could portray Doctor Torian in a film adaptation of The Sick Rose for fun and inspiration.  I thought he would be perfect!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

