Why I’m Not Doing NaNoWriMo Yet Again This Year (But Why You Should)

The most common question I get regarding my self-published graphic novella is “how long did it take you?”  That’s kind of an awkward question for me to answer because the book is only 32 pages long.  My reply is “two years”.  If I wanted to, I could even go back and say “four years” because that is when I originally got the idea for the story.  But I didn’t start my heavy writing until NaNoWriMo 2012 and ended up with what is now enough material for a 200+ page novel.  In the span of two years time and a couple of Camp Nanowrimos later, I’ve gone back and forth between keeping The Sick Rose an online graphic series or publishing it as a novel.  Eventually I came to the conclusion to release it in paperback chapter by chapter, or book by book, because the drawings for the first book were already half done in the online graphic version.

If you have been thinking about ever writing a novel, I strongly recommend participating in NaNoWriMo.  Saying that my participating in it two years ago changed my life is a bit of an understatement.  I’m now a self-published author and illustrator.  NaNo taught me that I can be a writer, that really anyone can.  NaNoWriMo separates the “men from the boys” so to speak; but not so much in that it takes some remarkable skill to be able to do it.  It is in the doing it that makes a person a success.  I went in almost blind.  I had done no research, I had no outline or my characters fully figured out.  The story evolved with me and through the process of writing.  Because of it, I am now sitting on enough content to release several more books in paperback.

My NaNoWriMo spawn

CreateSpace eStore: https://t.co/mzkVEDhCuO
Amazon: http://amzn.com/1501074687

This is why I will not be participating again this year.  I couldn’t last year because I was still trying to revise and figure out what I was doing with The Sick Rose.  I have to keep my focus on working on Book II of The Sick Rose Vampires “Skin of the Night” because my fans want it.  So I am going to take my NaNoWriMo time and devote it to cranking out drawings, the way it helped me to crank out words.  I’m going to do a drawing a day for the month of November, book related or not, just to get and keep me drawing.  I looked around online and found that people have done this before, but there is nothing officially scheduled for November.  So I will be doing my own DrawMo in a couple days.  I already hopped on the end of #inktober on twitter after having taken a month off from The Sick Rose to promote the book.

You’ll see me and my DrawMo work poking around social media.  I hope everyone participating in NaNoWriMo this year makes it great!  Best wishes!

http://nanowrimo.org/ Get on it! (You’re ready.)

Leave a Reply

