Multiracial Media

 logo

The Sick Rose Vampires Book I: Blood & Alcohol is currently on the front page of the new website Multiracial Media! The site focuses on the multiracial experience in all different aspects of the arts.

multiracial media

I was so flattered when Sarah Ratliff, co-author of the book Being Biracial: Where Our Secret Worlds Collide, invited me to be a part of the launch. I was introduced to Sarah, Bryony Sutherland, and their book last year through Twitter. They were gracious enough to provide feedback on my first book and my representation of biracial characters in my work.

The book Being Biracial has become a learning tool to not only help me write for my characters, but enlighten me as a human being. What has left the biggest mark on me from reading the book is how mixed raced individuals within the same multicultural family can become divided when their self-identity differs more strongly toward one aspect of their race than another. For example, if there are biracial (black/white) siblings, not only could one identify more with the African-American side of their culture, prefer it, and even resent their white side, the other sibling in the same family could feel a pull in the opposite direction.  Maybe the other sibling relates more to white culture, or being biracial as their culture. There’s a lot of different dynamics there that I haven’t thought about as someone who identifies as one race.

Now throw into the mix a person being another species, say a vampire, and things can get really complicated! Without revealing any spoilers in The Sick Rose Vampires, there is no doubt Being Biracial has been essential reading for me, and it’s influence will show up in my future work.

I am pleased to be a part of Multiracial Media because being multiracial is a big part of The Sick Rose Vampires. So pleased am I in fact that you may now read Book I: Blood & Alcohol in it’s entirety for free at Multiracial Media! This is really exciting because Book II: Skin of the Night is nearing completion! I have at least one more drawing to do, a little more editing, and then it’s off to the beta-readers!

elend drying hair color

Leave a Reply

