The Tale of Batty Bat

Once in a while as some of you may know, I volunteer with elementary level art classes. It’s how I can get in some kid time, have fun with art, and relax. My favorite projects to do are around Halloween (my favorite holiday). This past Halloween I made a bat out of a toilet paper roll with the little ones. This bat has come with me to all my comic book shows since then. Whether or not people noticed him at my booth, he was a permanent fixture there. His name was Batty Bat.

batty bat

Me pictured with my stolen display and Batty Bat

When my truck was stolen almost a month ago, much of my comic book convention supplies were inside: shelving, display hooks, posters, and signs. I was hesitant to confirm all of what exactly was lost with the setup. All I knew for certain was all the big stuff was gone. While I was organizing things to bring to Cosplay Con last Friday night, I got a pleasant surprise!

Batty Bat was still here! My vehicle was gone. All the fancy signage and display was gone, but my TP roll bat attached to a Popsicle stick was here! Sometimes it’s the little things.

Did you see Batty Bat in my set-up at Cosplay Con? Taylor, Michigan, June 4th

Thank you to everyone who chipped in to help make my first book signing appearance since the theft a smooth success.

You may help me replace my stolen vehicle by donating to my gofundme page: https://www.gofundme.com/replacerachelsride

You may also help by purchasing items, including my new book “Skin of the Night”, from my webstore.

Leave a Reply

